summer jobs and hospitals

I’ve really been neglecting a lot of the more personal, life side of my blog recently. It’s been very book-central since I picked up reading again and whilst I adore that I might as well write a little about my life as well, right? Plus I have a few little things I want to talk about anyway.

First of all, I have a summer job now! I’m not 100% sure on what the job will entail yet but it is 40hrs a week which means my activity on the site may reduce a little. Mostly not because of time to write since the job is 6am-3pm every weekday but just that book reviews etc will be coming in more of a slow trickle now (most probably) since I usually read at night and if I have to be up at 4.30/5am every morning to get ready for work then I don’t want to be up until past midnight reading haha. I’ll still figure out time to read, such as on my breaks at work and travelling to/from, but it will most likely not be a consistent speed. So my apologies for that.

In other news I was up at the hospital on Tuesday for some tests doing on my boobies since I found a lump there like 6 months ago and I figured it was probably about time I go and actually check whether or not it was anything to worry about rather than self-diagnosing. As it turns out, my self-diagnosis was completely correct and I have fibroadenomas which means they’re benign, which is grand. Not grand because I still need them removing but yeah, grand as in thank god I don’t have cancer. I’m too young for that shit.

The end of July draws nigh and with that means the beginning of my holiday in the south of England. I say holiday but it will most likely be an incredibly stressful week which will make me ill and/or want to lock myself away from my numerous and highly annoying young siblings. Also in August are my A Level exam results! I’m only partially worried for them since I have an unconditional uni offer which means I’m going no matter what. Still, I’m an incredibly prideful person and if I did badly in them I think it’d break my heart just a little (read: a lot). Particularly English Literature since that’s what I’m doing at uni and y’know.. if I can’t do well at A Level how am I supposed to get a degree in it haha.

Anyway this is the end of the post. I’ve done my rambling and though I should probably not post another blog entry so soon after the last one I kind of just want to get it up. Maybe I’ll wait a few hours and then post it (EDIT: this is what happened. I scheduled for 2 hours later).

– jess, xo

7 thoughts on “summer jobs and hospitals

  1. Panda

    Unconditional? Wow! How do you get those? I’m applying for uni this coming year. And I’m going to South England this week/next week too! Where abouts are you going? 🙂

    Like

    • chroniccacti

      unis give them out for people they pretty much know are going to do well and are guaranteed the grades… I got mine by applying to a uni with low asking grades (BBC) but high predicted grades (AAB – though I probably won’t be getting that). what a coincidence though! I’m going to somewhere in devon I’m not entirely sure where 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Panda

        What uni did you apply to? I don’t think I’ll get those though… With any luck, I’ll hopefully get Bs and Cs this year and all the unis I’m looking at are about ABB with grade 8 so…
        I’m going to Torquay then Cardiff 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • chroniccacti

        sounds fun! I’m off to nottingham trent; I can’t really remember where else I applied to now haha I think keele was my second choice. my grades are really funny and it’s all a bit up in the air about what I’ll come out with so I had a hard time balancing where to apply for

        Liked by 1 person

      • Panda

        Ooh. I’m right now considering Huddersfield, Sheffield, Bath Spa, Gloucestershire and Royal Scot Conservetoire. My dad wants me to consider Cantebury Christchurch as he knows someone there… Have you visited any of them? :/

        Like

      • chroniccacti

        yess I live in Yorkshire so I’ve been to Hudds and Sheff they’re both really nice especially Huddersfield–if I wanted to be close to home I would have gone there probably 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Panda

        Ooh same, where abouts in Yorkshire? And yeah, I like the sound of Huddersfield… Hopefully visiting in Sept/Oct 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

