so long august // monthly wrap up

3

It feels so strange to be doing a wrap-up post so soon after the last one but hey, at least it means I’m on time this month. After recently dividing my old blog into two separate ones (note the url change here and my new, personal blog at Chronic Cacti) this is going to be a lot shorter now and a whole lot less hectic. I’ll only be talking about books in my wrap-up on this blog but if you still want to keep up-to-date with the rest of my life, I’ll be doing a wrap-up on Chronic Cacti tomorrow as well! That one will be about life, music, etc.

WHAT I READ

IMG_1210

Wow, I really did expect to read more than four books this month but hey, what can you do? With me working and having to go to bed super early I’ve been finding it really difficult to slot in reading time. To be honest, I’ll probably have more time available when I start at uni in October. The first book of the month was Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas which I finished whilst on holiday on August 5th. For any who have seen my review, you’ll know I absolutely adored it! I’m happy for the end of August because it means quEEN OF SHADOWS FINALLY!!1! After that I got onto another Holiday TBR which was The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle. I really did want to love this book but it wasn’t at all what I was expecting, unfortunately, and took me three days to complete which is a long time considering I was on a) on holiday and b) it’s pretty short. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach was my next read of the month which I did enjoy but wasn’t astounded by, like I expected. Both reviews for these books are coming soon I promise I just have to get my brain in gear and actually write them! I rounded the month off reading the novella The Lady In Blue by Kimberly G. Giarratano for her Blog Tour which was an interesting little supernatural suspense. Again, not the best books I’ve read, but an overall alright read and I really loved being able to partake in the tour. You can read my post and review about that here!

WHAT I BOUGHT

IMG_1190

Well, unlike last month I actually didn’t buy so much in August! In fact, these three delightful new copies of Harry Potter only just snuck in since I bought them a matter of days before the end of the month. I’ve been wanting a set of these covers for absolutely ages and when I saw they were only £3.85 each in Tescos I decided to treat myself. Unfortunately Philosopher’s Stone, Chamber of Secrets, and Prisoner of Azkaban were the only three they actually had in-store so I went home afterwards and ordered the rest. So, I guess you could say books 4-7 are part of August’s haul as well but I’m going to count them in for September instead, sorry! I actually wrote a whole post entitled ‘Purchasing Potter’ about my Harry Potter books, which you can read here if you would like.

SEPTEMBER TBR

With so many books on order to arrive in September I just know my TBR list is going to expand exponentially. There’s quite a few books I’m dying to receive and others less so since I’m only reading them for my uni course.

  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • The Next Together by Lauren James
  • Beowulf translated by Seamus Heaney
  • Silas Marner by George Eliot

NOTABLE AUGUST POSTS

I started my first post in my new feature series Unpublished, Unfiltered: Author Ramblings. It’s a work in progress, sporadically posted little thing where I talk about different elements of writing a book, which I am experiencing properly for the first time now. I thought it’d be nice to share and I’m glad I did! More on that to come in September.

I also started my The Week In Photos series this month which I absolutely adore and can’t wait to continue with! It’s being moved to my personal blog Chronic Cacti now so if you want to keep up-to-date with it that’s where you’ll have to go.

– JESS, XO

WANT MORE? VISIT MY PERSONAL BLOG, NOW AT CHRONIC CACTI. A REBLOGGABLE VERSION OF MY POST CAN BE FOUND HERE.

Leave a Reply

