so long november // monthly wrap up

21

Well, I must say, November’s wrap-up is suitably close to the beginning of December don’t you think? This would have been done and up yesterday but I’m afraid I got sidetracked (surprise surprise). I’m here now though with my snazzy new card to act as a backdrop. I’m really upping my blogging game, hah.

WHAT I READ

IMG_1675

WHAT I BOUGHT

IMG_1684

  • Pretties by Scott Westerfeld
  • Specials by Scott Westerfeld
  • Extras by Scott Westerfeld
  • Obviously this is not the whole series. I picked them up for £1-£2 each in a local charity shop and they only had these three in.

DECEMBER TBR

IMG_1687

A LITTLE ABOUT LIFE

 

Capturebbb.PNG
View of the stage.

I never imagined I would be lucky enough to win a competition to see Dan and Phil’s show! I swear, getting the DM from my local Waterstones felt like utter bliss. AND THEN when me and my flatmate (who very kindly agreed to come with me) got to the concert hall we discovered we were seated only five rows back. FIVE ROWS BACK! FOR FREE!! Dan Howell and Phil Lester are two of my ultimate faves on youtube – how they never fail to make me laugh I will not know. Although many aspects of the show were clearly staged I still thought it was amazingly performed. It was hilarious, start to end, and I’m so glad I got the chance to experience it.

Capture24.PNG
(L-R) Jaymi, Me, Ashley, JJ, Josh

The day after Union J came to the city too as part of their Audience with Union J tour. I didn’t have tickets for this and neither did the friends I was with but we hung around outside the venue (which, in spite of being at a ‘secret location’, wasn’t all too troublesome to locate) waiting to see if they might come out. Right before the show started – and just as we were getting ready to leave so my friend could catch his train home – I spotted someone who looked an awful lot like Jaymi quite a way off. We soon realised it actually was him, along with JJ, and approached to ask for a quick photo. They’re always such lovely guys, it’s never not a pleasure to meet them! Plus it was an evening well spent.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Mockingjay pendant.

I talked about this in my weekly wrap-up as well but it was too exciting and awesome not to talk about here too!! The end to the Hunger Games franchise is still so raw for me: I’ve read the books, anticipated casting news, seen all the films, counted down every year edging closer and closer to November 2015 and now… it’s over. Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark will never be on the screen again (or at least not for a very long time). Living in a city and living away from home for the first time meant I got to experience this emotional conclusion to the series at 00:05 on Thursday, November 19th, and let me tell you: it was damn emotional alright.

capturehhh.PNG
Scouting For Girls @ O2 Academy, Sheffield

I’ve been supporting this band and adoring their music since 2007, before I was even in high school – it’s been that long! Now, eight long years later, I finally had the pleasure of seeing them on tour. It was exceptional! And to be so close to the stage, only second row, made it even better. I could capture and live every second again and again and never get bored. This band are incredible and I think they need a lot more recognition for what the do than they get. Most particularly Roy Stride who has written every single catchy song from all my favourites ever. God Roy, you talented fuck.

How was your November? I hope it was pleasing, and I hope December even more so!

– JESS, XO

Leave a Reply

