first term over

22.jpg

Hello from the other side. That’s right, I have finally and officially finished my first term at university! Let me tell you, it’s been a rollercoaster of emotion. There’s been times where I’ve thought I’d never meet a single person to call a friend and others when I was practically going insane from the stress of workload. Seriously, it’s a wonder I made it this far. And even though there were many blank, mini hiatuses on this blog during the time since I’ve started I’m finally happy to have a month off in which I can catch up with writing, reading, and most importantly relaxation.

University isn’t what I thought it would be like, truly. In some sense I enjoy the new academic freedom I have i.e. with essay questions. By reading so many books within one term and not just a tiny selection over the year I’ve already massively broadened my reading. I haven’t enjoyed everything we’ve read but most have been endurable and I have actually found a new love in the classic romance Jane Eyre. Who’d have thought!

Before I head home for the holidays though I have a few little plans and goals I aim to achieve. Most of them are just little things I want to do to make my life more enjoyable and others simply to de-stress. First off, I plan to hang a new line of rope on the wall by my bed to peg photos from. Currently I have one on my (overly cluttered) notice board but I want another so I can display even more photos!! In the same area I’m planning on sticking up some cute postcards from Paperchase. Next up, I want to properly sort out my bullet journal, order a new one for 2016, and figure out what has been working and what hasn’t and how I can make it look prettier in preparation for starting my new one. The one I have right now isn’t even half full yet but I thought it would be better to start a whole new book for the new year! At some point I’ll be working on some uni work so I can get it out of the way but, most importantly of course, I want to have a play around with my bookshelf and maybe (MAYBE!) colour coordinate it. That’s always looked like so much fun!!

Over Christmas I’ll be spending time with my family and friends, the latter of which I miss dearly despite our ceaseless Whatsapp chat. How will you be spending the festive season? If you’re in education too are you happy or glad to see the back of it for a little while?

– JESS, XO

3 thoughts on “first term over

  1. hermionefowl

    Congrats on finishing a term! Hopefully next term is less stressful, but I think university is just like that πŸ™‚ The photos definitely sound like a good idea, it’ll feel a lot more homely. Have a great holiday! πŸ™‚ I’m

    Like

Leave a Reply

