2016 goals

1

With the New Year looming nearer I thought it was about time I sat down and wrote myself a few little goals for the new year. I’ve split this into three categories: reading, blogging, and life. It’ll be fun to look back on them this time next year and see how much I’ve grown!

First of all, you might notice the brand new look my blog graphics have. One of my resolutions – that I’ve clearly already put into play – is for my blog to have a more thorough aesthetic appeal. The new colours and fonts give everything a quirky, girly feel which I love. Knowing me I’ll switch it up (again) in the next few months but for now it’s here to stay!

READING GOALS

  • Read 60 books – Whilst my Reading Challenge goals have only been 40 for the past two years I’ve been doing it, in 2016 I need to up my game. Also since this’ll be my first whole year full of university study I think my academic reading will take up at least 40 books – possibly more. I still want to set myself a decent goal to try and beat for recreational reading though!
  • Read more NetGalley ARCs – NetGalley is a site I adore and have used to receive e-ARCs on several instances before. When I get time I’d like to return to it and offer my reviewing services.
  • 2016 Diverse Reads Book Challenge – I’m not sure how easily I’ll be able to achieve a large read count with this challenge hosted by Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales and Shelley @ Read.Sleep.Repeat but I’m going to give it a good shot! Reading more diverse literature is so important and I really want to push to make sure I’m doing it.

BLOGGING GOALS

  • Reach 250 followers – Since I started this blog last May I’ve amazingly managed to hit 100 followers. It’s so weird and so great all at the same time! I’d love to see Paper Utopia flourish in the new year.
  • Post a minimum of 2 posts a week  – In the past few months my posting habits have been sporadic but in 2016 it. is. going. to. change! I refuse to let this blog go wayward again. Whilst I’ll be aiming for the 2 minimum posts a week I’d love to write 3 posts a week for at least 50% of the year.
  • Run a successful bookstagram account – This is something I’ve wanted to get involved in for a long time now and I’ve finally taken the plunge! You can follow me @paper.utopia if you want to see my shots.
  • Be more involved – I rarely comment on other bloggers’ posts and that needs to change. I want to form friendships with other people and become an active member of the community, both on the site and on places like Twitter (and now Instagram).
  • Start a secondary co-blog – I’ve had the idea for a little while now but I’d love to start a second blog where me and a handful of other bloggers each get to write a post about a certain bookish topic revolving around a weekly theme. Those are big thoughts though, and perhaps I should see whether I can stick to my new minimum post count on here first.

LIFE GOALS

  • Take more selfies, be in more photos – Self confidence usually gets in the way of me putting myself centre frame in a photo but I’ve recently realised how much of my life I’m leaving undocumented because of this issue. I need to build myself up and let myself take centrestage every once in a while. After all, the best Instagram feeds don’t always come from behind the lens.
  • Complete the first draft of my novel – It’s still a little baby egg despite the months of planning I’ve already put in but things are starting to become more solidified with it now. If I could hold the first, completed draft of it in my hand by this time next year that would be beyond incredible.
  • Complete my first year at university with a 2:1 – In my first two formative assessments so far I’ve achieved mid-to-high 2:1 grades and, as my summative assessments arrive this January, I want to pull of this great grade in something that counts. Well, it doesn’t really count since first year university grades don’t count towards your end degree, but it’ll be a nice platform to start my second year from and will really boost my confidence.
  • Take my DSLR with me more places – I really love photography and I miss some great opportunities for amazing shots simply because I only have my phone on me. I capture it anyway, of course, but my DSLR still trumps my phone any day.

sign off 1.png

6 thoughts on “2016 goals

  1. Panda

    I really love the recent branding style thing of your pictures – it looks really good! And depending on the topic, I could help with your co-blogging thing if you want? I guess my goal of passing my exams well is similar to your university thing as well. Good luck!
    Oh and I gave you a follow on instagram – pandasbooksblog 🙂

    Like

    • Jessica

      I loved it too! I’ll have no qualms turning back but for a little while I want to try these graphics.

      if/when I get that other blog up that would be amazing, I’ll keep you in mind thanks 🙂

      good luck with your exams as well! I’m sure you’ll do great.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

