organising my bookshelves

3

Bookshelves are a note of pride, aren’t they. And sometimes I get a little tired and/or frustrated at looking at the same layout: so I change it up. Whilst I might not have the same (enviable) space as many book bloggers and booktubers I try to make the most of what I do have.

IMG_1820IMG_1821

Here are a few ways I’ve experimented with organising my bookshelf:

  1. Random! When I first moved into my uni accommodation I decided to just put them on the shelf wherever I wanted them, more or less. My favourite books were on the bottom shelf because that one is the most easily accessible and the rest were put up top. All the books in a series were put together but apart from that it was really just looked best.
  2. Colour! I did this on a whim a few weeks back and was thrilled with the result. God, it really does make your shelf look so pretty! But it’s also pretty frustrating at times, given some book spines have some many colours on them it’s hard to categorise it and find a perfect place. Last night I decided to get rid of this style because I’d brought back a lot of new books from home and was finding it really difficult to place them.
  3. Publication date! After hours of trailing across the internet I found this method which I absolutely adore! It seems a little unconventional at first but it produces a pretty cool effect – I just wish I had shelves to do this with all my books instead of just a selection of them since it would look even better with all my books dating back to the 10th century.

So, with the help of my friend and flatmate last night I took down all my books and began to organise them by their (original) publication date. What’s on my shelf currently stems from 1997 (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling) to 2016 (This Raging Light by Estelle Laure). The few non-fiction and novellas I own are stacked separately right at the end of my shelf just because their size messed with my style haha.

I’m yet to try out the A-Z author name method, so maybe that one will be next! No doubt I’ll grow bored of organising by publication date sooner or later, though I think it’s here to stay at least for a little while.

sign off 4

3 thoughts on “organising my bookshelves

Leave a Reply

