19 facts about me

13.jpg

On February 11th 1997 I came into this world. Now, 19 years later, I’m celebrating my birthday with some wonderful friends on a day trip to London. With the last year of my teens looming before me (argh!) I’ve decided to wrap up 19 interesting facts about myself for your enjoyment.

1. If you didn’t already know I’m a first year undergraduate student, studying English with Creative Writing.

2. I have nine siblings. That’s right, nine! They range from the ages of 24 to 4 and I’m the second oldest. My parents are divorced so we’re not quite all cramped into one house, though my mum does have five children and my dad seven. I only share both parents with one of my brothers.

3. I’m quite the houseplant lover and own one aloe vera plant, three cactuses, and one vase of flowers (which I buy myself every week or so).

4. My hair has been dyed a variety of colours from a reddish-purple years ago to ginger this time last year and then to the ombréd blonde (well, it’s a very ginger tinted yellow if I’m honest) I am now. In between the blonde I’ve stained my ends pink and red on separate occasions. I really miss the pink.

5. My favourite animal is the owl and it honestly doesn’t have anything to do with Harry Potter.

6. Speaking of, I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I’m a Ravenclaw. I’ve struggled with whether or not I’m in Gryffindor or Ravenclaw for years and years now and I’m finally content.

7. My body is littered with bruises, scars, and minor imperfections. I have a scar on the back of my left ankle from where my foot went through a plastic stool, I have pretty unsightly scars on my boobs from surgery in October, I even have a scar on my right forearm, which I acquired recently, from god knows what. Oddly on my neck I have two small white circles which are quite hard to see if you don’t know they’re there and I also have a small chunk of my lip missing for no apparent reason. I usually cover that up with lipliner or lipstick when I’m wearing it. I honestly have no idea how or why my body has amassed most of these ‘imperfections’ but I suppose they’re all just a part of me now.

8. One of my favourite movies is About Time and I don’t really know why. It’s adorable in every way possible with great actors and an interesting, unique time travel storyline. It’s pretty great! Although, at the same time, nothing extraordinary.

9. My aspiration is to become a published author. I’m currently working on my first proper draft of a novel, though I’m not sure if you can count 700 words in 6 months ‘writing’. We’ll see. I’ll get there eventually.

10. If my writing dreams don’t work out I’d really like to go into the publishing/editorial world and get to work with other authors on their own books. Even if I become an author this might be a reality too.

11. I’m 5’5” in height and a size 5 shoe. My hands and feet are tiny even if my height is pretty average.

12. I lived in West Yorkshire, England for eighteen years of my life before moving to Nottingham for university. Now I live in a student flat with 8 others.

13. Though medically undiagnosed I have social anxiety disorder. Most of the time it’s acute and manageable but some days I really struggle with doing normal things. A few days ago I tried to activate my student ID card with my new gym membership but I wasn’t sure where to go and became so overcome with anxiety that I left.

14. If there is one thing I love in this world it is organisation and, along that vein, stationary. Having my life organised and my desk area tidy honestly makes me feel so much less stressed. It’s also pretty fun, even if I do have too many coloured pens to know what to do with.

15. I love bread, I really do. Sliced bread, pita bread, ciabatta, any and all! But most importantly: garlic bread.

16. My DSLR is my baby but I really want a film camera too because they have such a different quality to them. In the meantime I’ll settle for disposable cameras.

17. I have almost every single cinema and train ticket from the past four/five ish years saved in a box in my drawers. I don’t know why I first started doing this but now I stick them both in my bullet journal. I still have the box though. It’s ridiculously full.

18. I’ve been tracking what I’m reading since the beginning of 2014. If you want to see them you can view the annual lists and see this year’s progress so far here: 2014, 2015, 2016.

19. I can’t stand people who don’t know how to use punctuation properly and people who don’t understand simple things that they really should be capable of comprehending it’s a struggle to reign in my annoyance. If you’re doing a creative writing degree you should probably already know how to use speech marks. Just saying.

sign off 10.png

4 thoughts on “19 facts about me

Leave a Reply

