goodbye february // monthly wrap up

16.jpg

Welcome to the wrap up of February! A short month but a great one nonetheless – full of birthdays, books, university work and a hugeee haul. I’m trying out a new little style this month as well so let me know what you think. I really love it.

Books, Glorious Books

What I Read

IMG_2028b.jpg

This month I’ve been like a machine. I don’t quite understand how I have managed to completely obliterate my old reading habits and power through a whopping ten books, but I did! It makes me feel so accomplished, especially since I can say I’m already 27% of the way towards completing my 2016 Reading Challenge of 60 books. Now I’m just struggling to write reviews for them as quickly as I’m reading…

  • The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne (review)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
  • The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  • Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer (review)
  • Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer (review)
  • The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler
  • How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal #2) by Holly Bourne
  • Radio Silence by Alice Oseman (review)
  • A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
  • Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban

What I Bought

Alongside it being my birthday this month, meaning I had money to burn, I also had to buy some of my remaining books for my second semester at uni. So February has been rather expensive but, truly, the unboxing was worth it. Everything is so pretty! I even spoiled myself to some of the Penguin English Library editions of my favourites Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice.

  • Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
  • Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
  • Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer
  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
  • How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal #2) by Holly Bourne
  • Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel
  • Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler
  • A Room of One’s Own by Virgina Woolf
  • Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf
  • Riddley Walker by Russell Hoban
  • Annie John by Jamaica Kincaid
  • Beloved by Toni Morrison
  • Rosencrantz and Guildernstern are Dead by Tom Stoppard

Blogging Recap

February was one of my biggest months yet in terms of people viewing my blog. An astonishing number of people flocked to read my post on Youtuber Book Drama after I also shared it via my personal twitter page. It being a hot topic at the time certainly attracted a small viewership to my little blog! Maybe people were scared of my opinions though, because only one person commented to share their view.

Top Three Posts:

1. Youtuber Book Drama
2. What’s In My Bag?
3. Radio Silence Book Review

A Little About Life

London and Turning 19

This year I spent my birthday in London with a few of my favourite people. It’s pretty scary to hit 19 and realise you have one, single, 366 day year left of your teenage years. This time next year I’m going to be 20, which is insane because I swear I stopped progressing around 16. Since we only had eight hours in London we built an itinerary for the day before leaving and it actually worked incredibly well since we had spare time at the end of the day too. We started with a visit to Covent Garden and lunch at a lovely restaurant called Fire & Stone. The garlic bread there is 10/10 you have to give it a try! From there we went to Leicester Square, then Trafalgar Square, followed by Southbank and across Westminster Bridge to the other side of the Thames. We visited the Queen at Buckingham Palace, saw the Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens (my friend is obsessed!) and even managed time for a sneaky little visit to Foyles on Charing Cross Road where I bought a copy of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I’ve been dying to visit Foyles for some time now and I’m over the moon I finally got to go – that shop is so cute and heavenly and to be honest I wish I could live there. We topped the day off with a quick walk  down to the canal in Camden before hopping back on the tube all the way to Kings Cross. It was an amazing day and I’m so glad I got to spend it with such a lovely trio of friends.

Babys Galore

My cousin is expecting a baby in just over two months now and towards the end of February she threw her baby shower, which I came home from uni to specifically visit for. It feels quite surreal for someone I still consider to be quite young to be having a baby but even more surreal that I’m going to be one of the baby girl’s godmothers. I swear, Darcy Elizabeth is going to be one spoilt little princess.

Movies 101

Deadpool

Potentially the most hyped-up movies of the  year thus far, I knew Deadpool was a must-see for a Marvel lover like myself. Now, don’t get me wrong, I do actually adore Marvel films and religious go to the cinemas to watch them. However, I don’t always think they’re that great from a critical stand point. Are they enjoyable? Yes. Is every single one of them pretty much the same? Definitely. Deadpool isn’t like that, though. Deadpool brings something fresh to the travel, completely jam-packed with comedy and a whole new perspective on the art of ‘superheroes’. It didn’t quite life up to the hype I’d been expecting but it was certainly rather spectacular. Sometimes hype is a terrible thing and I think I would’ve thought this was EVEN BETTER if I hadn’t gone into the cinema expecting the most phenomenal superhero film I’ve ever seen (Can we call him a superhero? Is that accurate? Idk.)

How to Be Single

You know who loves female-led comedies? I do. I’m your gal. I’d been itching to see this since its release and when I finally made time I was… kind of disappointed, if I’m honest. Maybe in part because there’s a lot of false advertisement going on with this film – it’s less so about ‘how to be single’ and more ‘break up with your boyfriend to discover yourself’ which I thought was pretty damn stupid. There were definitely some good parts and I really loved Meg’s (Leslie Mann) storyline but, quite frankly, Alice (Dakota Johnson) was pretty damn annoying. In summary this film is quite funny, worth a watch if it’s cheap, but I wouldn’t commend you all to go out there and watch it right this very second. It tries too hard to be something else that it completely fails in what it could have been.

sign off for monthly wrap up.png

11 thoughts on “goodbye february // monthly wrap up

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks

    Wow, you had such a great reading month, that’s awesome! And I’ll wish you happy birthday again because I don’t remember if I did, and if I didn’t, shame on me! I’m glad to hear you had a great time in London, I wish I could live there, it’s my favorite citu of all times 🙂
    I can’t wait for you to read Since You’ve Been Gone, I loved that book. Happy reading Jess!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica

      I feel march will fall so flat compared to february now yikes. thank you for the birthday wish! I don’t remember if you did either but THANKS ANYWAY OR MAYBE THANKS AGAIN. my friend bought me since you’ve been gone I’ve been DYING to read it for ages it’s one for my march TBR for sure. also yes please I also want to live in london I love it so bad it’s my dream tbh

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reg | She Latitude

    Great photos, and I really like reading about your life in general. I remember having an INSANE freak-out just as I was turning 20, which resulted in me dating someone totally wrong for me, gorging on food, and all those crazy things. Hope your last year of being a teenager is way, way better than mine was! 😛

    Sad to hear that How to be Single disappointed you — I’m super excited for it, but I don’t think I’ll be watching it at the cinemas. Maybe when the DVD comes out, hey? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica

      thank you! wow, I didn’t really think my life was in any way interesting for anyone but myself, but thanks :p yes, hopefully I can avoid derailing at the terror of turning 20 so *fingers crossed* also please don’t get me wrong, how to be single is not a BAD film and I probably would watch it again tbh it’s just not GREAT

      Like

Leave a Reply

