goodbye march // monthly wrap up

IMG_2123 edit

Another month gone by! I can’t believe this means it’s April already and I’m pretty scared by that, since this is going to be a crazy, hectic month for me. You’ll have to wait to hear about that in next month’s wrap up though! For now, here is my very very very late March…

books, glorious books

Last month I read an incredible eleven books yet this month I drew… slightly short. But not by much! Here I am, nine books later, and in so much awe of how much I’ve managed to push through. Of course, I do owe some of it to being on holiday, since in my first week away I read the final 300 pages of Cress by Marissa Meyer, the 800 page extravangaza that is Winter (the final book in The Lunar Chronicles series by Meyer), and another book on top of that! Sometimes I don’t know how I do it.

What I read:

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen | Beloved – Toni Morrison |Flawed (Flawed #1) – Cecelia Ahern | Faceless – Alyssa B. Sheinmel | Asking For It – Louise O’Neill | Annie John – Jamaica Kincaid | Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) – Marissa Meyer | Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) – Marissa Meyer | A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro

What I bought and was sent:

 

March was a much quieter buying month for me. In true typical ‘me’ fashion I relied on winning books and buying some cheap from supermarkets to tide me over. Oh, how I do love the £3.85 deals in Asda and Tesco. At the beginning of the month I received The Time In Between, a memoir by Nancy Tucker about growing up with eating disorders, from Maximum Pop after winning a competition; it seems raw and unflinchingly honest and I can’t wait to get stuck into it. I also finally caved and bought Carry On which is quite monumental for me since I didn’t really enjoy the fanfiction chapters in Fangirl! And last of all, who could resist the pretty foiled cover of Rebel of the Sands? Not me. I think it’s the prettiest darn thing I’ve ever seen.

The Time In Between – Nancy Tucker | Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton | Carry On – Rainbow Rowell

blogging recap

March wasn’t quite as much of a hit as February but still a vast, vast improvement on my January stats. Again though I had one big post that brought many people to read it: the book bloggers penpal project. If you haven’t checked it out yet, you definitely should! May signups are now live. Quite amusingly, despite both my views, visitors, and likes counts decreasing the amount of comments stayed the same. Please do keep chatting to me on my posts, it’s nice to have little discussions with you!

top 3 posts:

1. #BBPenpals | Book Blogger Penpal Project
2. Wrap Up | February
3. Anticipated Reads | Spring 2016

A Little About Life

IMG_2070 edit

Holidays are great and so, so relaxing. At the end of March me and my family flew to Paphos, Cyprus for my Aunt’s wedding and wow – the Mediterranean sea is spectacular. There’s nothing I love more than swimming in clear water! Such a luscious blue. Sometimes it’s hard to remember, living in Northern England, that the sea is not actually brown and is far, far prettier elsewhere around the world. As for the wedding, that took place in a cute little garden with trees hanging overhead which was so beautiful, and even though my feet killed from wearing heels for hours it was a lovely day. There were many, many, many arguments and downs to the holiday (as any time with my family seems to bring) but it was nice to escape uni work for a while and just relax. I mean, look at how much reading I got done! An 800 page book in 3 days is pretty damn impressive if I do say so myself.

Also this month I started a penpal project which attracted a small amount of attention here on the blog. If you want to read more about and how to sign up then I have a little page here. So far it seems to be going well – I myself have sent out a letter to my penpal and can’t wait to get mine back in a week or two’s time. It’s coming all the way from AMERICA. I don’t know why I think that’s so cool but it definitely is. I’d love to see some more participants for next month so if you think this is up your alley check it out.

Upon reading Pride and Prejudice for the first time I fell head over heels in love with it and now never ever want to read another book again. For someone who, a few years ago, was very adamant that I would never read and actually enjoy a classic this is the most shocking and surprising turn of events to date. I thought I was going mad when I loved Jane Eyre (which I really do adore but have very many issues with it) but Austen’s most famed novel is literally everything I’ve ever wanted in a book and more. Romance???? Cute adaptation with adorable Mr Darcy??? A badass bloody awesome female main character???? SIGN ME THE HELL UP.

sign-off-new

8 thoughts on “goodbye march // monthly wrap up

  1. hermionefowl

    You definitely win for latest wrap up haha 😛 I really need Carry On, but I’ve been trying my best to resist buying it! I know what you mean about the sea – nothing quite beats swimming in the sea, pools are never the same. I have to go check out that pen pal thing now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica

      I have no idea when I’ll get time to read carry on its not really at the top of my tbr at the moment but I just couldn’t resist when I saw the price… you have far more restraint than I do!

      yeah, pools really aren’t the same at all. I think it’s a mix of not being able to stand up in the sea and literally just how fresh and crisp the water always seems to feel. definitely wouldn’t bathe in UK waters but get me anywhere else and yes please

      thanks for checking out the penpal project! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. GirlReading

    You read some really fab books!! I read Winter a few months ago and loved it!! I’m so sad the series is over!! :’) Do you think you will want to read Stars Above, the Lunar Chronicles novella? 🙂 Great wrap up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessica

      I really do love the Lunar Chronicles!! I started reading Stars Above but I put it down because I find it hard to get into novellas, even for series’s that I adore… I’ll almost definitely come back to it though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

