how to cope with a reading slump

DSC00927 edit.jpg

We’ve all been there. Picking one book up but setting it down just as quickly, grabbing another and another but not being able to settle on any one thing. It’s hard, and annoying, and makes you feel like the biggest reading failure… but there’s a way out. Or so I hope.

Ever since I came back from my holiday at the beginning of April I’d just not had any reading mojo left in me. It took me twenty days to finish Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson and in the weeks since then I only managed to make my way through two other books. But what was the worst of it? It was that I had so many incredible, interesting books that I wanted to read but I just couldn’t find the motivation to do so. I mean, The Raven King came out and I only got 50 pages in… THE RAVEN KING! God, I love that series so bad, and I’m planning on returning to it tonight, but clearly the fact I didn’t devour the final book in a few sittings was enough to show me that something was seriously, seriously wrong with me.

Why was I struggling to read so bad? I think a big part of it was a lack of time. Okay, no, that’s not quite right… I had the time but I’d been dedicating what used to be my reading time to other things since I’d started doing a lot more work in preparation for uni deadlines (only one more to go now!) My ‘dedicated reading time’ was always at 11pm until whenever but I was progressively staying up later to finish work, meaning that that time was being cut into, and even when it wasn’t I kind of just wanted to chill and binge on YouTube instead.

It’s not that I didn’t want to read. God, I wanted to read more than anything. But we all know the feeling don’t we… sometimes life just consumes us and it’s so hard to get back into the swing of things.

so, how to cope…

How do you deal with a reading slump then? What magic concoction do you need to carve your way out?

It’s actually a really simple, two step guide.

1. Stop feeling guilty for not reading!

So what if you haven’t read anything this month. Who cares? I know there’s a lot of pressure in the blogging community to read read read but you need to go at your own pace. If you’re not feeling it then that’s okay. You don’t have to guilt trip yourself whilst your blog slips into decline from your lack of activity (*cough cough* sound familiar?) It’s okay to read one book a month and it’s okay to read twenty. You do you!

2. Read short but sweet!

The absolute top medicine to pick yourself right out of a slump is to simply read a short book you know you’ll love, preferably one that is quite simple and isn’t going to give you too much of a bookish headache. Rainbow Rowell and Jenny Han are a few fan favourites here, but I just read When We Collided by Emery Lord which was pretty great too. For me, when I’m in a slump reading off my e-reader is waayyy easier – but whatever works best for you! Find your sweet spot and ride it out.

sign-off-new

3 thoughts on “how to cope with a reading slump

Leave a Reply

