goodbye may // monthly wrap up

DSC00099

Let’s call May a ridiculous month. I don’t think I did anything beside university work for the entire 31 days: it was long, it was tiresome, but I’m on the other side now. PHEW! As a result of uni overload my reading is a little bit appalling again but I’m so excited to start reading again since my tbr pile has become a tbr mountain.

books, glorious books

What I read:

When We Collided – Emery Lord | The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) – Maggie Stiefvater | Under Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall | Tonight the Streets are Ours – Leila Sales

What I bought and was sent:

*sent to me by publishers/NetGalley

Tonight the Streets Are Ours – Leila Sales | Only Ever Yours – Louise O’Neill | Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo | Always With Love – Giovanna Fletcher | Grafitti – Savannah Brown | All the Rage – Courtney Summers | Not If I See You First – Eric Lindstrom | *These Shallow Graves – Jennifer Donnelly | *The Crown (The Selection #5) – Kiera Cass | *A Court of Thornes and Roses (ACOTAR #1) – Sarah J. Maas | *A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) – Sarah J. Maas | *Under Rose-Tainted Skies – Louise Gornall | *Nightwanderers – C. J. Flood | *The Square Root of Summer – Harriet Reuter Hapgood

blogging recap

Because I was so horrifically busy with coursework and exam revision the blog took a serious hit this month. When I wasn’t doing uni-related things I was keeping up with my work on Maximum Pop! and unfortunately the blog truly did have to suffer because of it. Although, rather oddly, my stats haven’t actually suffered because my Mental Health Awareness Week book recommendations post was surprisingly popular. I’m really glad about that because I hope it means more people are going out into the literary world with a few more mental health positive books on their TBR.

top 3 posts:

1. Mental Health Awareness Week // book recs
2. April // monthly wrap up
3. How to Cope with a Reading Slump

a little about life

CjFiKZPWsAQrHJQ

  • As you may or may not have noticed in the above photo, I dyed the ends of my hair purple! In that time they’ve faded to a yellowish-green kind of colour whilst I have been looking like some sort of fantastical mermaid. It’s great.
  • I completed 2/3rd of my first year at university! Two of my modules, Arguing about English and The Craft of Writing, were all wrapped up by the second week of May and I honestly couldn’t have been happier about it, I wanted to cry.
  • Ever heard of a ‘little band’ called Busted? 5 year old Jessica was absolutely, irrevocably in love with them and I was very close to tearing up when I finally saw them live this month at Sheffield Arena. Them getting back together seemed like an impossibility but I guess pigs truly can fly (also saw Emma Blackery perform at the show. Rad.)
  • Carrie Hope Fletcher is a delightful angel and it was so wonderful to meet her at stage door whilst she was in Nottingham for the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang theatre tour. I spent a cumulative total of two and a half hours at stage tour trying to meet her over two days. Maybe a little crazy, but worth it.
  • I celebrated my 1 year anniversary with my harry potter tattoo at the end of the month! I’ll be getting my next one pretty soon now, whenever I can work up the courage to make enquiries with some local tattooists, but I absolutely cannot wait.

What did you get up to this month?

sign-off-new

5 thoughts on “goodbye may // monthly wrap up

  1. Jimmy

    Hi! I’ve been reading your weblog for a long time now and
    finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a
    shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the
    good work!

    Like

  2. Tasya

    I might read The Raven King this month, even though I’m a bit nervous since some people feel a bit dissapointed by it. I hope you’ll enjoy reading Six of Crows!

    Like

Leave a Reply

