goodbye july // monthly wrap up

DSC01256

Hitting August terrifies me, because now I know I’m only seven weeks away from heading back to uni to start second year. Oh, where does time go? From visiting London to a whole mountain of books, here is my month:

books, glorious books

My favourite read this month was a tough call but it absolutely had to be You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan. Although Sara Barnard’s Beautiful Broken Things was a very close second, LaCour and Levithan’s latest duet felt like an explosion of emotion. Of course, there was also the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child right at the very end of July, but we’re not going to even judge it against anything else because Harry Potter transcends every other goddamn book in existence – that’s why. Of course I loved it too, are you crazy?

What I read:

The Museum of Heartbreak – Meg Leder | Beautiful Broken Things – Sara Barnard | Songs About a Girl (Songs About a Girl #1) – Chris Russell | On the Other Side – Carrie Hope Fletcher | You Know Me Well – Nina LaCour and David Levithan | The Light Fantastic – Sarah Combs | Lying About Last Summer – Sue Wallman | Nightwanderers – C.J. Flood | Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling et al

What I bought and was sent:

*sent to me by publishers/NetGalley

*Wrecked – Maria Padian | *The Light Fantastic – Sarah Combs | *Songs About a Girl – Chris Russell | On the Other Side – Carrie Hope Fletcher | Everyday Sexism – Laura Bates | Seed – Lisa Heathfield | I Am Malala – Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb | *Cruel Heart Broken – Emma Haughton | Lying About Last Summer – Sue Wallman | P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) – Jenny Han | Love Song – Sophia Bennett | Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson | *Dear Charlie – N.D. Gomes | Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling et al | Finding Audrey – Sophie Kinsella | The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

Yeah… maybe I should cut down on the book-buying in August?

blogging recap

I’ve had the second best blogging month, in terms of posts going up, of the year so far. In July I wrote seven blog posts – including some I’m really proud of. I really do want to open up more space for discussion on my blog and this month it really shone through. Also, something really crazy happened: I wrote a review of Carrie Hope Fletcher’s On the Other Side and she retweeted it, sending ridiculous amounts of people to my blog. Over 1000 people visited Paper Utopia in July – how crazy?!?! So, if you’re new around here, hey! Stick around maybe?

top three posts:

1. On the Other Side // book review
2. Did the 1950s call? Because I think they want their journalists back
3. #IAmAFeminist

a little about life

DSC01259

 

  • I got my uni grades back! Finishing first year with a very high 2:1 is a pretty incredible feeling, especially knowing I was only a hair width away from a First. I wrote a round up of my first year at uni here where I chat a little more about my grades, work, and what I’ll be up to next year.
  • As the little Carrie Fletcher fangirls we are, of course me and my bestie went to see her as Truly Scrumptious in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang during the Sheffield leg of the tour. The last show I saw was Les Mis and god, it almost felt weird not to be crying in the theatre – like I forgot a musical can be fun and joyous too. The day after, we also went to her first On the Other Side signing and got our (early released) books signed. I swear, Carrie gets sweeter every time I see her. How can one woman be such a bundle of happiness and not combust?!
  • In a funny twist of events, I ended up in London on two consecutive days this July: once meeting up with work, and the next day being the absolute definite of a tourist with friends. If these days out have reminded me of anything, it’s that I utterly love London. Can I live there already? Can that be a thing?!
  • Also this month I put my Cineworld unlimited card to some use again and saw Ghostbusters, which was pretty damn hilarious, thank you very much. Damn the sexists who can only criticise the female-led cast – damn them right to hell. This movie is fun and empowering even if it could’ve been done better. God, I hope there are more lady BAMFs in films to come because I am so over the damsel in distress narrative.
  • I also ate out like 5 days in a row. That shouldn’t be allowed. Lord help me.

How was your July? Got an awesome plans for August?

sign-off-new

4 thoughts on “goodbye july // monthly wrap up

Leave a Reply

