non-fiction and me

IMG_2338 edit

This is not a drill. Who’d have thought it? I’ve fallen in love with the gorgeous, non-fiction sitting on my shelves. Okay, let’s be honest – I’ve fallen in love with the world of feminist literature and after reading Laura Jane Williams, Laura Bates etc. I am not looking back.

So on the incredibly warm Thursday evening that it is as I write this, I thought I’d talk about some of my recent faves, some of the ones I’m looking to get to next and just why I’m so enamoured.

Becoming by Laura Jane Williams

Why oh why did nobody send this hilarious, delightful sex memoir my way any sooner? I couldn’t put it down; the raunchy scenes are enough to get anyone at least a little hot and bothered and Laura’s anecdotal journey from sex-obsessed to celibate makes for a cracking read. I might not have ever spent my summers abroad in Italy, or had a series of flings with gorgeous foreigners, or flown all the goddamn way to New York to profess my love to a (near on) total stranger but… there’s something about Becoming which resonates. Laura Jane Williams really hits the nail on the head.

Girl Up by Laura Bates

I was hooked from the very first time I opened the book and saw the dancing vagina end paper. Seriously. It is glorious, trust me. If I’m being honest, this one took me a while to get through, but not for lack of awesomeness. Girl Up is accessible feminism which discusses some big ideas in an easy-to-comprehend manner. And listen up... can we talk about what genius artist drew up the graphics for this book? ‘Cause I kind of want to sell them my soul.

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

What an incredible critic, writer and all-round lady figure. Virginia Woolf, ladies and gents, is half the reason feminist literature is what it is today. I read A Room of One’s Own last year during my first year of study (what English Lit student hasn’t read it?) and whilst my first reading was a bit… eh…. I’ve since grown to love the daring, provocative, trail-blazer that is this essay and Woolf herself. Plus this new copy I got for Christmas is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.

IMG_2335 edit

What I need to read ASAP

I loved Girl Up, so Everyday Sexism (Laura Bates’ debut) is another must as is the incredible tale of teenage extraordinaire Malala. I’ve had these sitting on my shelves for quite some time now but I’m probably not, realistically, going to have time to read them until summer (damn) but I really can’t wait to sink my teeth into them. When I get a spare moment I’ll be finishing off Cherry Healey’s Letters to my Fanny, a birthday gift from my boyfriend, and scouring Goodreads for more must-read feminist loves.

A couple of things have already caught my eye, which I can’t wait to get my hands on soon:

  • Nasty Women by assorted authors (published by 404 Ink)
  • We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World by Ann Shen

Do you have any more recs for me? Greatly appreciated!

sign-off-new

One thought on “non-fiction and me

  1. cw @ readthinkponder

    Wow, what a fantastic selection of non-fic! I haven’t read A Room of One’s Own yet, nor have I read any of Woolf’s other books. (I know, I’m terrible!) I really need to get around reading it sometime though.
    We Should All Be Feminists is a fantastic book, but, in case you didn’t know, Adichie recently made some harmful comments about trans* people… while I believe her book is still good and I still recommend it to people, it made me think about whether her book is exclusionary to non-binary and trans people and issues. 😦
    But! I’ve heard wonderful things about Nasty Women, so I hope you enjoy that. It has a variety of perspectives too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

