oh comics, how i love thee so

IMG_2386 edit

Attention all. The worst thing imaginable has happened to me: I’ve become obsessed. Obsessed with pretty drawings and comic books, that’s what. It’s terrible – as I’m sure you can imagine.

The desire to devour these bitesize graphic novels has overwhelmed me in the past few weeks. I guess I have my boyfriend to thank for that (love you). It started at his house over Christmas when I picked up issue #1 of Sex Criminals. Fast forward to the Easter hols, I’m back again, and this time I read through issues #2 and #3 and then get myself onto Amazon quicker than you can say “climaxing bank robbers”.

Things spiral from there. I now own eight comic book volumes and I couldn’t be happier.

IMG_2383 edit

Sex Criminals

I know, I know. What a premise, eh? But I promise, this series is possibly the greatest thing ever. It’s sex positive, has gorgeous graphics and carries a page-turning story. The thing about Jon and Suzie is that every time they orgasm they freeze time and you can get up to a lot of hijinxs when you can put a pause on life just by rubbing one off, that’s for sure. I’m three volumes in and can’t wait for volume #4, aptly titled Fourgy, to hit shelves in August.

Giant Days

I picked this one up on a whim a few days ago whilst in my local independent comic store because it was only £7.50 and, to my immense delight, I discovered it was set at Sheffield University. I don’t go to uni in Sheffield but I am local to the area and reading a comic set there just makes me happy. At first I wasn’t too fond of the art style, which is a little less traditional comic and a lot more cartoon, but I love how unique each character is (both in their design and their actions) and the things the story tackles. It’s not life or death, high stakes game, but it’s a page-turning comic about three fast-friend freshers and their hilarious antics in the first few months at uni. Even though I’m only read volume #1 there’s a couple more out, definitely enough to sink your teeth into.

IMG_2375 edit

Paper Girls

Honestly, the storyline is pretty rad, but these graphics are so insanely gorgeous that I’d buy it even if it wasn’t just so I could stare at it all day. I don’t know quite what I expected from the plot but this, a sci-fi story of time travel, aliens, budding friendship and saving the world, all from four twelve year old paper girls, is more incredible than I ever could’ve hoped for. My only complaint is I have a lot of difficulty telling Erin and Tiffany (the two on the right in the snap above) apart sometimes but other than that… BUY IT, READ IT. It’s a beauty.

As I type, I’m surrounded by two opened parcels and three brand new comic book volumes. Paper Girls volume #2, which I’ve already devoured, and the opening volumes of two others I fancied: Bitch Planet and The Wicked & The Divine. Honest, um, I’m not obsessed…. (My bank account hates me).

I’m trying to hold off buying anything immediately, so I can save up and not feel too guilty about purchasing the rest of Giant Days, but I’m definitely on the look out for some new reads. They’re perfect for this time of year, when I’m crazy stressed about exams and don’t have as much reading time as I want, so if you have any other comic/graphic novel recommendations I’d love to hear them!

sign-off-new

One thought on “oh comics, how i love thee so

Leave a Reply

