fairwell april // monthly wrap up

IMG_2418 edit.jpg

New blog, new me. Welcome to my first wrap up since AUGUST 2016, whaaat?! I actually kinda love doing these but, as with the rest of my blog, things just fell apart before. Well, I’m back with a bang and so are these wonderful monthly wrap-ups. So strap yourself in, buckle up and prepare for a list of EVERYTHING I LOVED IN APRIL.

I want to start chronicling the things that made me happy, or proud, or just generally filled me with a little bit of love this month. Sure, it’s great to look back on what I read month by month, but memories last a lifetime and its these little nuggets of positivity I want to remember for years to come.

Six things that made me happy:

  • I went on a little day trip to London with my best pal Grace this month. We didn’t do any touristy things, just had a laugh and a general good time inc. lots of chicken nuggets and possibly the best garlic bread I’ve ever tasted. (It was heavenly, okay.)
  • Who knows why I didn’t get into these wonderful things sooner but oh my gosh, comic books have become my new love. Just wait until you see what I read this week – it is chocka full of gorgeous comics. I talked about some of my faves already on the blog.
  • Fall Out Boy are baaaaaaaack, bitches! Enough said.
  • I went to a theme park (Drayton Manor, FYI) for the first time in years this month with some friends and it was glorious. There’s nothing quite like the thrill of a great rollercoaster, is there? And let me tell you, the chicken and curly fries we had for lucnh were to die for. (Wow, I talk about food a lot don’t I…)
  • Dear White People came out a couple days ago and, honestly, it is possibly one of the greatest, most relevant shows to hit the internet this year. Possibly ever. It’s hilarious, current, diverse and engaging. I love it, I love it, I love it.
  • Who’d have ever guessed it, but guess what?! I’m actually on top of my deadlines for the first time since I started university. That’s right, I finished April with 500 words left to write on an essay that isn’t due until May 9th, plus with a practically-finished 10 minute long screenplay done well before the May 12th hand in. I am godly, it’s true.

IMG_2380 edit

Read this month:

A Study in Scarlet – Arthur Conon Doyle | Paper Girls Vol. 1 – Brian K. Vaughn | We Should All Be Feminists – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas | Sex Criminals Vol. 1: One Weird Trick – Matt Fraction | Sex Criminals Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop – Matt Fraction | Sex Criminals Vol. 3: Three the Hard Way – Matt Fraction | Giant Days Vol. 1 – John Allison | Paper Girls Vol. 2 – Brian K. Vaughn | Bitch Planet Vol. 1: Extraordinary Machine – Kelly Sue DeConnick | The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1: The Faust Act – Kieron Gillen | Giant Days Vol. 2 – John Allison | Captain Marvel (Marvel NOW!) Vol. 1 – Kelly Sue DeConnick

Not only have I been devouring comic book volumes left, right and centre but I’ve also been hooked on some amazing blog posts that’ve gone up this month, written by some truly talented people. So why not share some of my fave reads!

The Queens of blogging this month:

What have you been up to this month? Come chat with me in the comments about your current reads or May plans.

sign-off-new

Leave a Reply

